Mountain views

“The mountains are calling and I must go”…image

That sentiment is so true to my soul. They call my name this time of year, every year since we moved to where it’s possible to visit them. I come from Oklahoma. More precisely, western Oklahoma. The song, Oklahoma (“where the wind comes sweeping down the plain”), is utterly true. I don’t know for sure, I’ve never looked it up, but I would bet that the author was in western Oklahoma when they penned that ditty. Wheat fields and wind, red dirt and little water most years. That is western OK. I loved it there, it holds a part of my heart. You can see forever and watch as a thunderstorm (or tornado) rolls in from miles away. You can drive and find back roads with absolutely nothing on them. You can take your four wheeler, ranger, razor, or whatever off roading vehicle you prefer, go to the river that holds little to no water and make your own fun. It really is a nice place to be raised.

But these mountains. The majesty that comes with them. The trees that go on as far as the eye can see. The colors from those trees this time of year. The trails that can be blazed that lead to outlooks and waterfalls and rivers and openings with more beauty than you can imagine. The mountains where you can’t see anything that’s around the bend which makes you curious about what’s around the bend, only to find another bend that calls your name. Another peak that’s in the distance beckoning to be driven or walked to. They call my name I tell you.

Which is why we are headed to the mountains for a mini vacation. Daddy is on leave and instead of sitting in a classroom missing another day with their dad tomorrow my kids will be out with him exploring the mountains and what this countryside has to offer for their science lesson. We have spent today learning math and history in the car and tomorrow will collect leaves to go home and study when vacation is done. My husband knows how much this place calls to me and tries to plan leave so we can go around this time of year (October is better for the colors of the trees but you gotta take what you can with the military right??). Just another upside to our decision to homeschool. Freedom to leave without worry of piled up work.

“The mountains are calling and I must go” so I’m off to explore. image.jpeg

Leave a Reply

